First 16 of 2016 Fits it Forward

Thanks to everyone who came out to celebrate HRC’s First 16 of 2016. It was a great day for running and an even better day to sit down to breakfast and raise community support.

The event raised $795 in donations for Fit it Forward – an initiative that provides proper footwear to people in Halifax experiencing homelessness.

Nick McBride, Mark Pothier and Marie-Claude Gregoire present cheque to Luke MacDonald.

Nick McBride, Mark Pothier and Marie-Claude Gregoire present cheque to Luke MacDonald.

A number of awards were handed out to HRC members during the event. Below is a recap (puns courtesy of Mike Kennedy).

Neil Young Hey, Hey, My, My Award - John Huxtable
For the runner who believes wholeheartedly that it is better to burn out than to fade away. This award goes to the runner who is most likely to start very quickly, running at the front of the pack... for a very short distance.

Gallagher Award - Darcy Stephens
Bestowed annually to the runner who is the ultimate long run companion. Named after the legendary Bruce Gallagher, the recipient must demonstrate a gift for gab to keep you entertained throughout the run with a seemingly podcast like stream of stories, jokes, and life advice.

Trail Shop Bionic Comeback Award - Krista Harrison
Goes to a runner who overcame adversity to rise to the top of podium. After shattering her ankle in several places (possibly while distracted by one of Darcy Stephen’s jokes) just over a year ago, she podium-ed on her first race back.

iRon Award - Ron MacDougall
Outstanding performance in the field of advanced training, fashion, and commitment to excellence. Awarded annually to Ron MacDougall for his ongoing contributions to the advancement of running across multimedia - from film to fashion.

Ugly Sweater, Big Heart Award - Leah Jabbour
Goes to the runner whose commitment to organizing fun races with terrible attire is trumped only by her commitment to empower the next generation of runners to fall in love with the sport.

Java Blend Award for Excellence in the Field of Coffee - Brian McDonah
Goes to a person whose daily grind means a latte to all of us. Keeps the coffee flowing week after week – It is likely that none of us would wake up on Sunday’s without him. He’s no average Joe! The Minister of the Church of Latte A Day Saints. We espresso your appreciation.

HRC Presidents Award - Brian Doiron
Given annually to a club volunteer who goes above and beyond in making things run smoothly. 

Most Improved Runner - Janet Hawkins
You could say this runner continues to make “strides”. She did HRC proud in Boston in 2015 and is continually lowering her PB

MVP (aka Craig Michie Award for Aging Like a Fine Wine) Award - Morag McDonah
This year’s HRC MVP award is going to someone, who, amongst other things, was a recipient of a 2015 Athletics NS Award for her consistent ownership of the podium in her age group.

Rebar Award - Colleen Drohan
Arguably the most prestigious award of the Year - proving that when there is pain, there is gain, in the form of a painful looking mantel piece. Awarded annually to a runner who sustains Rebar.